ICSA Marlow College Sailor of the Year Award 2018

We’re delighted for Stephano Peschiera (College of Charleston) who won the Marlow Ropes College InterCollegiate Sailor of the Year Award on Saturday 2nd June. We have been title sponsor of this Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) award since 2014 and Peschiera joins a talented group.

Peschiera had an incredible year of racing including winning the LaserPerformance Men’s Singlehanded National Championship, the LaserPerformance Team Race National Championship, placed second overall at this Gill Coed Championship and won intersectional and other top events throughout the season among other great finishes and having previously been named an All-American.

The Everett B. Morris Trophy is awarded annually to the Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year for outstanding performance at the highest level of sailing in the collegiate year. The trophy is named in memory of a distinguished journalist who spent more than 30 years, as a yachting writer and editor. This year there were two finalists for the prestigious award: Stephano Peschiera (Lima, Peru), College of Charleston ’18 and Greiner Hobbs (Tampa, Fla.), Hobart and William Smith Colleges ’18.

Marlow Ropes have been title sponsors of this award since 2014.  Previous winners have included:

2014 Graham Landy, Yale University
2015 Nevin Snow, Georgetown University
2016 Nevin Snow, Georgetown University
2017 Ian Barrows, Yale University