Ian Barrows College Sailor of the Year

Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year 2017 Announced

On 2nd June, following the Gill Coed National Championship, an Awards Ceremony was held to award the honors for the Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year along with the Robert H. Hobbs Sportsmanship Award and the Leonard M. Fowle Trophy for the Best Overall Team. The names of the winners will be added to the ICSA Hall of Fame display located in the Robert Crown Center at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md.

The Everett B. Morris Trophy is awarded annually to the Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year for outstanding performance at the highest level of sailing in the collegiate year. The trophy is named in memory of a distinguished journalist who spent more than 30 years, as a yachting writer and editor. This year there were five finalists for the prestigious award: Ian Barrows (St. Thomas, USVI), Yale University ‘17, Stephano Peschiera (Lima, Peru), College of Charleston ’18, Nicholas Baird (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Yale University ’19, Patrick Snow (San Diego, Calif.), U.S. Naval Academy ’17 and Erika Reineke (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Boston College ’17.

Each of the sailors had an incredible year of competition and we are delighted to hear that the winner is Ian Barrows. Barrows won many of the regattas in A-division that he sailed over the last year and was placed second with his team at the 2017 Laser Performance Team Race National Championship and the 2017 Gill Coed National Championship.

Barrows has been named an All-American each year since he started sailing in college and he was a finalist for this honor last year.

“This honor means a lot,” says Barrows, “It helps to show that the hard work and time that I have put into sailing has paid off.  What I love about college sailing is the atmosphere, the friends I have made and have grown up sailing with and seeing familiar faces every weekend, It’s awesome to have such a big group of friends in the sailing community.”

To read the full article at Scuttlebutt Sailing news, click here.